Welcome to the Out-of-State Public Trails and Lands Access Permit Purchase System
North Dakota law requires all out-of-state and out-of-country snowmobiles obtain an out-of-state snowmobile permit to operate on public right of way and trail systems. The permit costs $25.00 and is required to be in the operator’s possession while driving their snowmobile within this state. The revenue generated from the sale of these passes is used to assist in maintaining North Dakota’s trail system.
Now, you can purchase Out-of-State Public Trails and Lands Access Permits securely online with a credit card. Just fill out the information on this screen to enter your snowmobile registration information. Please note, you will need the information off of your state’s registration card. Once completed, you will be able to print out your permit which is valid until April 1st of the snowmobile season in which it is purchased.
Out-of-State snowmobile’s ridden in North Dakota for longer than 30 days must be registered in North Dakota. For more information on out-of-state permits or where to ride, please call the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department at 701-328-5357.