
Introduction North Dakota UST Operator Training Program 

Welcome to the North Dakota Department of Health’s (NDDoH) Underground Storage Tank 
Program’s Operator Training course.  This training program was developed to comply with the 
requirements of the Energy Policy Act of 2005.  The training is required for all facilities in North 
Dakota that have regulated underground storage tanks (USTs). 
  
In this training program you will learn about the North Dakota requirements for regulated USTs.  The 
training has been broken down into two sections.  The first section is mandatory and is the same for 
all UST facilities.  The second section is comprised of different training modules based on the UST 
equipment that is used at your facility. 

Introduction 
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Introduction 
 
Each facility in North Dakota must designate a Class A, Class B, and a Class C operator, with the 
exception of unattended cardtrol facilities which only need a Class A and Class B operator.  All 
classes of operators must be trained on UST operations.  However, it is only the Class A and Class B 
operators that are required to take this online training course or another course approved by the 
NDDoH.  The Class C operators can be trained by an approved Class B operator.  After each online 
training module, there will be a short test.  In order to pass the module, you must score at least     
75 percent on the test.  If you do not pass the test, you must review the module and retake it.   
 
One person can be a designated Class A, Class B, and Class C operator at the same facility.  And one 
person could also be a Class A, B and C operator for multiple facilities.  Each facility is required to 
designate one or multiple people as Class A, B and C operators. 
 
The testing requirements for each class of operator are different.  The Class B operator is required to 
have the most extensive training and will have enough training to be designated as a Class A, B and 
C operator.  Training for the Class A operator is not as extensive as the Class B.  The Class A training is 
intended for individuals that would like to learn more about the underground storage tank rules in 
North Dakota, but do not need the amount of training as a Class B operator. 
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After successfully passing the required modules, you will be a trained Class A or B operator in the 
state of North Dakota.  Upon passing the tests, your information will be sent to the NDDoH 
showing that you are a trained operator.  You will be required to print a certificate identifying which 
modules you passed.  This certificate must be printed and kept at the facility.  If, in the future, your 
facility changes equipment, you must pass the training module for the new equipment.  For 
example, if your facility has tanks on which you perform manual tank gauging, and you upgrade to 
automatic tank gauging, you will have to take the automatic tank gauging test module to retrain as 
a Class B operator.  Retraining due to equipment changes must take place within 90 days of the 
equipment upgrade. 
  
You may also be required to retrain as an operator if it is requested by the NDDoH.  This may occur 
if there are significant rule changes to the Underground Storage Tank Program or if your facility is 
out of compliance with the UST rules.  If a facility does not have a Class A and B operator by August 
8, 2012, it will be considered out of compliance with both the federal and state UST regulations. 
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In the following training modules, you will be required to take certain modules based upon the 
information the North Dakota Department of Health has in its database for your facility.  In some 
cases this information will be incorrect.  For example, you may have upgraded your leak detection 
systems on your tanks and have not notified the NDDoH.  In these cases, you may take any 
additional modules that you need to be a trained operator.  However, in order to be a trained 
Class A or B operator by the NDDoH you will need to notify the NDDoH of the equipment/UST 
system changes.  Once the NDDoH has updated your facility information, you will be notified to 
return to the website to print out the certificate showing that you are a trained Class A or B 
operator in North Dakota. 
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Additional Information 
 
Additional information regarding items discussed in this module and forms to record your results 
are available on the Internet at ************.  Or you may call a North Dakota Department of 
Health representative at 701.328.5166 for more information. 
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